web analytics

TTBS Certification Division Accredited

Submitted by the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards (TTBS)

The Certification Division of the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards (TTBS) is now accredited to the international standard ISO/IEC 17021-1:2015 for its ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems Certification Program. The accreditation was granted by the Jamaica National Agency for Accreditation (JANAAC) on October 3rd, 2022.

ISO/IEC 17021 was developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and outlines the requirements for bodies providing management systems audit and certification services. The standard sets out guidelines for the accreditation of certification bodies, ensuring that they are competent and impartial in conducting audits and issuing certifications. The standard covers the entire certification process, including the initial application and evaluation, the certification audit, and ongoing surveillance and re-certification.

Certification bodies that conform to the requirements of ISO/IEC 17021 are considered reliable and trustworthy, and their certifications are recognized internationally. The standard also promotes consistency and uniformity in the certification process, enhancing the credibility and reliability of management system certifications. By adhering to this standard, certification bodies can demonstrate their commitment to excellence and provide assurance to their clients that their certifications satisfy international requirements.

During the project’s execution, TTBS received assistance from the CARICOM Regional Organisation for Standards and Quality (CROSQ). CROSQ provided project oversight and also provided technical and financial support through the CROSQ-11th EDF EPA TBT Project.

The ISO/IEC 17021 accreditation adds to the list of awards that TTBS has received, which includes the ISO/IEC 17020 accreditation for its inspection services in the Implementation Division, and the ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation for testing in the Laboratory Services Division. These awards confirm TTBS’ capacity to deliver high-quality services that meet global technical standards consistently.

TTBS Certification Divisionā€™s IAF accreditation scopes include:

  1. Scope 2 – Mining and Quarrying;
  2. Scope 7 – Pulp, Paper and paper products;
  3. Scope 9 – Printing companies;
  4. Scope 16 – Concrete, cement, lime, plaster, etc.;
  5. Scope 29 – Wholesale and retail trade: Repair of motor vehicles, motorcycles an personal and   household goods and;
  6. Scope 34 – Engineering services.

For further information, please contact:

Mr Rodney Ramnath, Manager Certification Division, TTBS

Mr Damien Surajbally, Standards Officer II, Certification Division, TTBS          

Tel:  662-8827 Ext 2220, 2221, 2227 Email: certification@ttbs.org.tt